Volleyball rule changes

posted by Jeff | Thursday, November 17, 2005, 1:14 PM | comments: 1

I just got a summary of the rule changes that USA Volleyball (and presumably FIVB) have for the year. The highlight? A player is not called for a net violation unless they're involved in playing the ball or it interferes with play. That means if a blocker transitioning off the net happens to tag it, it doesn't matter! That's a good rule. It doesn't happen often, but it's a good common sense rule.

On the flip side, a player can't reach over the net to pull a ball back. This really only applies to over-passed palls that the setter tries to save, and honestly this is a rare thing as well for most setters. Although my tall setter from my high school season this year could actually do that successfully, but I don't know if she'll be setting in the J.O. season.


Comments

KtotheARA, November 18, 2005, 3:26 AM #

I like the net rule...those stupid tall freaks up front can never keep their elbows/shoulders/forearms/whatever out of the net ;o)!

And don't say it's not called that often because you know that when it is, it's at the worst possible moment in the game when you can't afford it.

You know I'm right. I'm always right, remember :o)?


Post your comment: